Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

UAHT shooting team competing for title

By submitted, 02/27/18 9:27 AM

Shooting Team - spring 2018

HOPE – The University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana Iron Horse Shooting Team will compete in the Arkansas State Collegiate Championship Shoot this weekend at the Delta Resort and Spa Shooting Complex in Tillar.

Disciplines in the shoot will include American Trap, International Trap, American Skeet, International Skeet, and Sporting Clays. This will mark the fourth year that the UAHT Iron Horses have competed in the State Championship Shoot.

Established in 2014, the Iron Horse Shooting Team was made possible by a generous donation of $10,000 from Dr. Robbie Carter and Smiles of Arkansas Dental Center. Dr. Carter has continued his support by donating $2,500 each year to aid the team in registration expenses and ammunition. UAHT supports the shooters by offering the top seven shooters, each year, a scholarship of up to $400.

“The team has put in a lot of hours of practice at our new practice facility at Rocky Creek Outdoors,” said Eddy Anders, Iron Horse Shooting Coach. “All the guys have worked hard, and we are looking forward to competing this weekend at the State shoot.”

For more information about the Iron Horse Shooting Team, call Casey Curtis at 870-722-8241.

Pictured left to right: Zack Rhinehart (Texarkana, AR), Allen Westbrook (Blevins, AR), Nicholas Lerew (Hope, AR), Logan Crawford (Texarkana, TX), Austin Johnston (Genoa, AR), and Eddy Anders, Coach (Texarkana, TX)