Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Races set for Primary elections

By Staff, 03/1/18 3:33 PM


PRESCOTT – Races have been set for all political offices in Nevada County for the May 22 Preferential Primary Election.

Interestingly, several candidates are running on the GOP ticket this time, a departure from the norm. All constable candidates are running on the Republican ticket as are the candidate for surveyor, Robert Callicott, and coroner, David Gummeson.

Who will be the Nevada County Judge will be decided in the Nov. 6 General Election, as incumbent Mark Glass is running as a Democrat, while his challenger, Mike Otwell, is running as a Republican.

Danny Martin has no challenger for Nevada County Sheriff. In fact, no county official is opposed. Julie Oliver, Pam Box, Rita Reyenga and Susie Key are all unopposed, and with the exception of Oliver, who’s running as a Democrat, all are running as independents.

Most JPs will be running unopposed, and all but one is running on the Democratic ticket. The lone contested race with a Republican is for JP District 8 where Chris Fore is running against George Smith. Fore is running on the GOP ticket, while Smith, the incumbent, is a Democrat. Three people are vying for the seat in JP District 3 left vacant by Ryan Harvey. The three running are Tommy Johnson, Patricia Grimes and Nicole McClure.

Dennis Pruitt, Willie Wilson, Curtis Lee Johnson, Bob Cummings, Herbert Coleman, Kenneth Bailey and Brenda Stockton are all unopposed.

Both candidates seeking the position of Mayor of Prescott are running as Democrats. They are, incumbent Terry Oliver and his challenger, Rena Brown.

Three seats on the Prescott City Council have challengers. Bobbie Brown, Ward 1, Position 1, is being challenged by Satarra Williams. Ivory Curry is challenging Tommy Poole for Ward 1, Position 2. Carolyn Todd is challenging Stacy Jester in Ward 2 Position 2. Howard Austin, Jerry Hightower, Carla Christopher, Susie Meeks and Patricia Roberts are all unopposed.

Robert Loe has no challenger for Prescott City Recorder.

Rev. Altha Palmer will be running for the Prescott School Board in zone 2. For the Nevada School District, Todd Brown and Brandon Rhodes are unchallenged.

The candidates for constable are: David Barr, Alabama; Micah Stockton, Albany; John Smillie, Boughton; Todd Cross, Caney; Ryan McBrayer, Emmet; Robert Missey, Liberty; Penny Lynch, Missouri; and Larry Miller, Taylor.