Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Election results show some surprises

By Staff, 05/22/18 9:58 PM

PRESCOTT – A total of 1,440 ballots were cast in Tuesday’s preferential party primary election, with some surprises resulting.

Overall, 1,092 of the ballots were cast in the Democratic primary, with 342 for Republican candidates and six for nonpartisan hopefuls.

Early and absentee votes were the first tabulated, with 526 early votes cast and 44 absentee ballots submitted. No ballots were sent overseas. Of these ballots, 503 were votes for Democratic candidates with 66 for Republicans and one for nonpartisan.

When all was said and done, though, the results were as follows:

Governor – D – Jared K. Henderson, 549, Leticia Sanders, 341. Governor – R – Asa Huchinson, 231; Jan Morgan, 109.

For JP District 3: Tommy Johnson, 87; Pat (Patty Faye) Grimes, 204; Nicole McClure, 12.

For Prescott Mayor: Rena Brown, 227; Terry Oliver, 416.

For Prescott City Council, Ward 1, Position 1: Satarra Willams, 111; Bobbie Brown, 145.

City Council, Ward 1, Position 2: Ivory Curry, 333; Tommy Pool 311.

City Council, Ward 2, Position 2; Carolyn Todd, 390; Stacy Jester, 241.

For Congressional District 4 – R – Randy Caldwell, 60; Bruce Westerman, 273.

For Secretary of State – R – John Thurston, 206; Trevor Drown, 112.

For State Supreme Court Assistant Justice P3 – nonpartisan – Kenneth Hixson, 372; David Sterling, 400; Courtney Goodson, 517.

For 8th Judicial District Prosecuting Attorney – nonpartisan – Christi McQueen, 922; Angilynn Taylor, 481.

For the first time, the primary election also carried races for school boards.

For the Prescott School Board, Zone 2, District 14, Altha Palmer was the only candidate and received 867 votes.

For the Nevada School District, Zone 2, District 1, Todd Brown received 248 votes.

Brandon Rhodes won Zone 3, District 1, with 251 votes. Both candidates were unopposed.

For the Nevada school tax, the measure fell 161-128, which means nothing because the millage rate will remain unchanged.

For Prescott, the tax passed 515-509.