Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Hall of Fame Honorees

By Submitted, 08/28/18 1:48 PM

The Hope Public Schools District will honor five former Hope educators here Friday during a public reception at 3:30 p.m. in the rotunda of Hempstead Hall on the University of Arkansas-Hope campus, and at 7:10 p.m. at Hammons Stadium during induction ceremonies for the Hope Public Schools Educator Hall of Fame. The five inductees include former Hope High School vocational agriculture teacher Troy Buck; the late Earl Downs, founder of the educational counseling office at Hope High School; the late Will V. Rutherford, principal at Yerger High School; the late Mrs. Mary Nell Turner, long-time journalism teacher at Hope High School; and Henry C. Yerger, founder of Black education in Hope at the Shover Street School, the forerunner of Yerger High School. The celebration is part of the Hempstead County Bicentennial Year.