Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Amendment 5 proposes increase in minimum wage

By submitted, 10/31/18 7:51 AM

NOTICE FOR ACT PROPOSED BY PETITION OF THE PEOPLE
Issue No. 5
NOTICE TO THE PUBLIC
Pursuant to Article 5, Section 1, of the Arkansas Constitution (Amendment 7) and Ark. Code Ann.§ 7-9-113, an act proposed by petition of the people will appear on the November 6, 2018
ballot as Issue No. 5.
Each elector upon voting his/her ballot shall vote for or against this proposed act.
The Popular Name, Ballot Title, and complete text of the proposed act follow.
(Popular Name)
An Act to Increase the Arkansas Minimum Wage
(Ballot Title)
An Act to amend the Arkansas Code concerning the State minimum wage; the Act would raise the current State minimum wage from eight dollars and fifty cents ($ 8.50) per hour to nine dollars and
twenty-five cents ($9.25) per hour on January 1, 2019, to ten dollars ($10.00) per hour on January 1, 2020, and to eleven dollars ($11.00) per hour on January 1, 2021
(Complete Text of Proposed Act)
BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
SECTION 1. Arkansas Code§ 11-4-210(a), concerning the state minimum wage, is amended to read
as follows:
(a)(l) Beginning October 1, 2006, every employer shall pay each of his or her employees wages at the rate of not less than six dollars and twenty-five cents ($6.25) per hour except as otherwise provided in this subchapter.
(2)(A) Beginning January 1, 2015, every employer shall pay each of his or her employees wages at the rate of not less than seven dollars and fifty cents ($7.50) per hour, beginning January 1, 2016 the
rate of not less than eight dollars ($8.00) per hour and beginning January 1, 2017 the rate of not less than eight dollars and fifty cents ($8.50) per hour except as otherwise provided in this subchapter.
(3)(A) Beginning January 1, 2019, every employer shall pay each of his or her employees wages at the rate of not less than nine dollars and twenty-five cents ($9.25) per hour, beginning January 1,
2020 the rate of not less than ten dollars ($10.00) per hour and beginning January 1, 2021 the rate of not less than eleven dollars ($11.00) per hour except as otherwise provided in this subchapter.