Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Glass joins SAU foundation’s Board of Governors

By submitted, 11/28/18 2:23 PM

MAGNOLIA – The Southern Arkansas University Foundation has announced the addition of three SAU alumni members to the SAU Foundation Board of Governors.

The new members are JoBeth Glass, Larry Henderson and Jennifer Pierce. They reflect a diverse range of experiences and careers, including an attorney, a CPA, and an insurance business owner. They were added to the Board on August 10, 2018.

JoBeth Glass is a 1985 graduate of SAU with a Bachelor of Accounting degree. She is the owner and an insurance agent at Glass Insurance Agency, LLC. She and her husband, Wayne, also an SAU 1985 graduate, established the business in 2001. They live in Prescott, Arkansas.

Larry Henderson is A 1971 graduate of SAU with a Bachelor of Business Administration in Accounting degree. He is a partner in Wilf & Henderson, P.C., and is a CPA licensed in Arkansas and Texas. He is involved in providing accounting and auditing services to business entities, non-profit and governmental entities, financial institutions, charitable organizations, and a variety of other organizations.  He and his wife, Cathy, live in Texarkana, Texas.

Jennifer Pierce is a 1998 graduate of SAU with a Bachelor of Accounting degree. She is an attorney with Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, P.L.L.C. where she advises non-profit and tax-exempt organizations on formation, planning and tax issues. She lives in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Board members serve for a term of three years and may serve up to two terms.

Governors completing their terms of service were Mark Dixon, MD, a physician; Beth Weldon, VP of Marketing for First Financial Bank; and Sherry Phillips-Dillender, a corporate recruiter for TPI.

“Once again, the SAU Foundation has been blessed by a new class of leadership joining our Board of Governors,” said Executive Director Macy Braswell. “The experiences of these individuals further strengthens and diversifies our Board, giving the Foundation the leadership we need. We welcome them to the Board, and I thank the retiring governors who have served with such diligence and passion.”

The SAU Foundation is an independent, not-for-profit 501(c)(3) entity organized to assist and coordinate in raising and managing funds and resources on behalf of Southern Arkansas University to be used exclusively in furthering the literacy, scientific and educational purposes of the University. It is the responsibility of the Board of Directors to manage and disburse assets prudently within a policy that encourages the enhancement of the resources of the Foundation.

Board-of-Governors-New FA18: New Board of Governor members are, from left, Jennifer Pierce, Larry Henderson and Jo Beth Glass.

Board-of-Governors FA18: The 2018-2019 Board of Governors and retiring members are Molly Harsh Burns, Dr. Mark Dixon, Kent Hendrix, Larry Henderson, Travis Buchanan, Jennifer Pierce, Betty Stringfellow, Edgar Lee, Beth Weldon, Phil Brooks, Tim Daniels, Iverson Jackson, Tom Watson, Julia Laney Machen, Debbie Arnold, Charlotte Baine, Jo Beth Glass and Mike Dumas. Not pictured are Roger Bell, John Dumas, Charley Jackson, Joe Pieratt, Dr. David Rankin, Terry “Bo” Ray, Alan Ribble, Robin Story and Sherry Phillips-Dillender.