Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

HHS cadet named top in state

By Submitted, 05/9/19 4:51 PM
Hope High School Air Force Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps Cadet 2nd Lieutenant Briana Rodriguez, right, was named Air Force Association Cadet of the Year in Arkansas in ceremonies at HHS May 7. Presenting the award was U.S. Air Force Colonel (Ret.) David Mason.

HOPE – Hope High School Air Force Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps Cadet 2nd Lieutenant Briana Rodriguez is the 2019 Air Force Association Cadet of the Year in Arkansas.
Cadet 2Lt. Rodriguez was awarded the state’s AFJROTC highest individual honor during awards presentation for HHS AR-20101 unit assembly May 7 at Hope High School.
U.S. Air Force Colonel (Ret.) David Mason presented the citation and award to Rodriguez upon the nomination of HHS Senior Aerospace Science Instructor Lieutenant Colonel (Ret.) Mark Hart.
LTC Hart cited Rodriguez’s growth in cadet leadership as a sophomore student and second-year cadet at Hope High School in his nomination.
“Cadet Rodriguez is an intelligent and energetic leader,” Hart wrote. “Her passion for the AFJROTC program is very evident.”
Rodriguez was cited for accomplishments throughout the academic year at HHS, including accumulation of 49 community service hours, leading eight color guard units, participation in six curriculum-in-action field trips and one fundraising event.
“During our recent move to a new classroom location in a different building, Cadet Rodriguez spearheaded a team effort of inventorying, sorting, and organizing military uniforms and office supplies,” Hart wrote.
Rodriguez is also credited with creating the Airman Cadet Emergency, or ACE box, concept of necessary travel items for an individual cadet which has been put into use in the unit.
She has served as Commander, Color Guard Team C; Logistics Officer-In-Charge; Airman’s Ball Committee Member; HHS Student Council Representative; Future Farmers of America Team Member; and is active in youth activities in her church, Hart noted.
Cadet Britney Alverado was presented with the Arkansas Air Force Association Award, also given by Col. Mason during the ceremonies.

Unit awards included:
Distinguished Cadet – Michael Magee.
Outstanding Aerospace Science I Cadet – Michael Morrison.
Outstanding Aerospace Science II Cadet – Michael Magee, Briana Rodriguez.
Outstanding Aerospace Science III Cadet – Britney Alvarado.
Outstanding Aerospace Science Flight – Delta Flight.

Organizational awards included:
Veterans of Foreign Wars Medal – Joshua Johnson.
Military Officer’s Association of America Medal – Paul Culley.
Military Order of World Wars Medal – Verenice Leyva.
Reserve Officer’s Association Medal – Alan Martinez.
American Veterans Medal – Gianna Knight.
American Legion General Military Excellence Award – Jacob Pettit.
American Legion Scholastic Award – K’aijah Harris.
Order of Dalian – Alaysia Lewis.
Military Order of Purple Heart – Briana Rodriguez.
Air Force Sergeant’s Association Achievement Award – Jacquelin Culley.
Tuskegee Airmen Award – Michael Magee, Christian Lewis.
Air Commando Association Award – Nathaniel English.
Retired Enlisted Association Award – Lisbeth Carillo.