Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

2019 Southwest District Parade

By Staff, 09/25/19 12:22 AM

The Southwest District Fair and Rodeo kicked off on Tuesday, September 24 with the annual fair parade. This years parade took the usual downtown route.

Hempstead County Sheriff James Singleton followed the ROTC of Hope Public Schools with the American Flag and Arkansas State Flag lead the parade. Followed by Hope City Mayor Steve Montgomery, Hempstead County Officials, Hempstead County Republican Party
Pageant contestants from Hempstead, Nevada, Pike, Miller, Little River, Lafayette, Howard, Columbia, and Clark Counties, Hope High School Homecoming Court, Perrytown Fire Company, Hope Fire Department, Guernsey Fire Department, Patmos VFD, Pafford EMS, Game and Fish Commission, Spring Hill Fire and Rescue, American Legion, Hope Marching Band, Hope Varsity and Junior High Cheerleaders, Red River Wrecker Service, Tractors, Garrett Memorial Christian School Cheerleaders, Garrett Memorial Christian School 2020 seniors, Heather Doucet State Farm, Spring Hill FBLA, Spring Hill PeeWee football and cheerleaders, Spring Hill Homecoming Court, Hope Tractor, Bobcat FFA, Hope Taxi, Boy Scouts, Grannys Daycare, Rainbow, Beryl Henry Elementary, Sugar Town Riders, Hope Church of Christ and ended with horses.

The parade is judged each year in three divisions, Queens Division, Juniors Division, and Open Division. First, second, and third, places are awarded with cash prizes of $75, $50, and $35.

Queens Division:
1st Place-Hempstead County Little Miss, Zoie Cummings
2nd Place-Hempstead County Junior Miss 1st Runner up, Paulina Sonnonbarg
3rd Place-Lafayette County Little Miss, Anna Rushing

Junior Division:
1st Place-Spring Hill Homecoming Float
2nd Place-Garrett Memorial Christian School
3rd Place-Hope FFA

Open Divison:
1st Place-Heather Manor Nursing Center
2nd Place-State Farm
3rd Place-Making Rainbows Pre-K