Colleges getting more COVID-19 funding

By submitted, 05/3/20 7:35 AM

WASHINGTON— U.S. Senators John Boozman and Tom Cotton—along with Congressmen Rick Crawford, French Hill, Steve Womack and Bruce Westerman—announced an additional round of coronavirus relief funding for Arkansas’s Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) and institutions serving low-income students to help ensure learning continues during the coronavirus crisis.

The funds—totaling $14,573,384—come from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act, which became law with the support of the Arkansas congressional delegation. It is part of nearly $1.4 billion in additional funding the Department of Education has directed to Minority Serving Institutions (MSIs) nationwide, which is provided on top of the money previously allocated in the first round.

Institutions may use this funding to cover the cost of technology associated with a transition to distance education, grants to cover the costs of attendance for eligible students and training for faculty and staff. Additionally, funds may be used to cover operational costs, such as lost revenue, reimbursements for prior expenses and payroll.

“The Department of Education quickly awarded CARES Act funding to higher education institutions across the state to aid students impacted during this crisis. This additional funding recognizes the unique challenges facing HBCUs and institutions serving low-income students. These institutions play a vital role in transforming lives and make Arkansas’s communities stronger,” the delegation said.

The following Arkansas colleges and universities will receive funding from this second round of grants:

Arkansas Baptist College

Arkansas State University Mid-South

Arkansas State University-Beebe

Arkansas State University-Main Campus

Arkansas State University-Mountain Home

Arkansas State University-Newport

Arkansas Tech University

Baptist Health College Little Rock

Black River Technical College

Central Baptist College

College of the Ouachitas

Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas

Crowley’s Ridge College

Ecclesia College

Henderson State University

Jefferson Regional Medical Center School of Nursing

Lyon College

National Park College

North Arkansas College

Northwest Arkansas Community College

Ozarka College

Philander Smith College

Shorter College

South Arkansas Community College

Southeast Arkansas College

Southern Arkansas University Main Campus

Southern Arkansas University Tech

University of Arkansas at Little Rock

University of Arkansas at Monticello

University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff

University of Arkansas Community College Rich Mountain

University of Arkansas Community College-Batesville

University of Arkansas Community College-Hope

University of Arkansas Community College-Morrilton

University of Arkansas-Fort Smith

University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College

University of Central Arkansas

University of the Ozarks

Williams Baptist University








































Arkansas colleges and universities received over $100 million in the first round of emergency grants to support postsecondary students and institutes of higher education impacted by the coronavirus pandemic. In total, the CARES Act provides nearly $14 billion to support postsecondary students and institutions nationwide.