NHS inducts new members

By Ken McLemore/Hope Public Schools, 04/22/21 2:47 PM
The 2020-2021 inductees into the Hope High School chapter of the National Honor Society were
formally accepted into membership in ceremonies in the HHS auditorium April 21 in the first masked
and socially-distanced induction conducted by the group. – Ken McLemore/Hope Public Schools
HOPE – New members of the Hope High School chapter of the National Honor Society were
congratulated for their contribution to excellence at HHS and challenged to take that
accomplishment into their future Wednesday.
HHS Principal Bill Hoglund gave the congratulatory address to the 20 inductees in socially-
distanced and masked ceremonies in the HHS auditorium.
Hoglund used the COVID-19 pandemic to encourage the students to establish themselves as
individuals and leaders through the remainder of their high school tenure.
“Find your place, find your passion, find your purpose,” he said.
Presentation of the Four Pillars of National Honor Society was conducted by Jaci Johnson,
Scholarship; Kristina King, Service; Ke’Ara Key, Leadership; and Ashanti Phillips, Character.
The inductees were called to the stage where each enrolled their name in the membership
ledger of the chapter and the NHS Pledge was administered to the new class.
NHS 2020-2021 Class inductees included Odalis Aldaba, Jamesha Armstrong, Shakira Arnett,
Sydnie Booker, Kearon Brown, Jocelyn Castro, Ashlyn Courtney, Montavius Eason, Alana
Flenory, Brandon Gallegos, Ahyanna Gulley, C’airah King, Masie McLaughlin, Brittany Martiney,
Michelle Martinez, Darlene Matamoras, Jadora Rivera, Krystal Vasquez, Richard Ware and Kyla
The new class joins NHS members Lizabeth Arroyo, Zanautica Barker, Darton Davis, Brooke
Hurt, Jaci Johnson, Bianca Juarez, Ke’Ara Key, Kristina King, Vernice Leyva, Annabeth Martin,
Jazmin Martinez, Ashanti Phillips, Noemi Salazar, Asia Stockdale, Ayden Sundberg, and
Na’Tyja White under the sponsorship of NHS Advisor Jill Self.