Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Arkansas Century Farm Program Honors Nevada County farm

By Dale Gathright, Jr., 11/6/21 10:47 AM

LITTLE ROCK  – Governor Asa Hutchinson was joined by Arkansas Secretary of Agriculture Wes Ward and the
Arkansas Department of Agriculture in inducting 32 additional Arkansas farms into the Arkansas Century Farm
Program this past week. That included the Martin Tree Farm (Est. 1912) in Nevada County.

Arkansas Century Farm program recognizes Arkansas farms of 10 acres or more owned by the same family
for at least 100 years. The Arkansas Department of Agriculture began the Century Farm program in 2012 to
highlight the contributions of these families to the agriculture industry as well as their overall contributions to
our state.

Agriculture is Arkansas’s largest industry, contributing more than $21 billion to the state’s economy annually
and providing one of every six jobs in the state. Arkansas consistently ranks in the top 25 nationally in the
production of more than 15 agricultural commodities.

“Year after year, decade after decade, in the face of many challenges, Century Farm families put everything on
the line to earn a living and produce our food, our fabrics, our forests. Farm families are great for our economy,
but they are much more than that. The work ethic, common sense, and family values that are the bedrock of a
family farm are a model for all Arkansans,” said Governor Hutchinson. “For the good of Arkansas, I hope their
children and grandchildren choose to continue on the family farm, and that someday, the Arkansas Department
of Agriculture will create an Arkansas Two-Century Farm program.”

526 farms are currently recognized as Arkansas Century Farms throughout the state. The 32 newly inducted
Century Farms are located in the following 29 counties: Arkansas, Benton, Boone, Bradley, Carroll, Clay,
Cleburne, Craighead, Dallas, Desha, Faulkner, Fulton, Garland, Hot Spring, Howard, Jackson, Jefferson,
Lawrence, Lonoke, Monroe, Nevada, Ouachita, Perry, Prairie, Pulaski, Scott, St. Francis, White, and Yell