Smith named outstanding alum for UAHT

By submitted, 10/19/17 9:02 AM

Chris Smith - ACC


LITTLE ROCK – The 2017 U of A Hope-Texarkana Outstanding Alum of the Year, Christopher Smith, was recognized at the Annual Arkansas Community College’s Conference in Little Rock, on October 17.

Smith is a 2006 graduate of Hope High School and a 2008 graduate of the University of Arkansas Community College at Hope, where he obtained an Associate of Arts degree.

In the summer of 2008, he ventured to Washington, D.C. to serve as a summer congressional intern. After returning from Washington, D.C., he transferred to the University of Arkansas at Little Rock (UALR). He completed a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science from UALR in 2010. During his tenure at UALR, he served as the student body president. He received a Masters of Public Administration degree from Arkansas State University in 2014.

As the UALR student body president, Smith worked tirelessly to represent students and advocate for their concerns. His major contribution was the creation of “Reach 12,000”, a non-perishable food drive, to raise at least one food item for each UALR student. The food drive continues to this day.

After volunteering with various organizations such as Upward Basketball, he felt the need to do more to help others, particularly young people, so he founded a non-profit organization, “The Uplifting Journey.” As founder and CEO, he became more dedicated to helping individuals develop a more optimistic viewpoint of life through his organization. Shortly after its initiation, the organization launched its youth initiative entitled, “ReDEFINE Me.” This initiative is focused on assisting teenagers in alleviating stereotypes and embracing their true identity.

Smith is currently pursuing a Doctor of Education in Organizational Change and Leadership degree from the University of Southern California and serves as a Commissioner of the City of Little Rock Board of Adjustment. He also currently works for Philander Smith College in Little Rock as the Program Coordinator for Special Programs and Special Assistant to the President.

Pictured: Bill Stovall, Executive Director of Arkansas Community Colleges, awards Christopher Smith for being named the 2017 UAHT Alum of the Year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *