Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Early voting underway, issues and candidates abound

By Staff, 10/22/18 1:26 PM

PRESCOTTĀ  – Voters across the nation will go to the polls Tuesday, Nov. 6, to cast their ballots in the midterm General Election.

In Nevada County, polls will be open from 7:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m. Early voting began Monday, Oct. 22 and end Nov. 5. Early voting can be done at the Nevada County Courthouse in the Veteran’s Service Office. Early voting can be done from 8 a.m. until 6 p.m. Monday-Friday and 10 a.m. until 4 p.m. on Saturday. All voters must enter through the front doors of the courthouse.

Early and absentee ballots will be tallied at 4 p.m. on Nov. 6, with the results released after the polls close.

Poll sites in Nevada County are: Bluff City, City, Rural and Reader – Bluff City Hall; Bodcaw City and Rural – Old school lunchroom; Emmet City and Rural – city hall; Georgia – Morris Churth; Laneburg – fire station – Rosston City and Rural – city hall; Willisville City and Rural – city hall; Wards 1-4 in Prescott – Central Baptist Church; and West and East Rural – First Baptist Church.

Voters will be casting their ballots on the following candidates and issues:

Governor – Jared K. Henderson (D) or Gov. Asa Hutchinson (R)

Lt. Gov. – Lt. Gov. Tom Griffin (R), Anthony Bland (D) or Mark West (L)

U.S. Congress Dist. 4 – Rep. Bruce Westerman (R), Hayden Catherine Shamel (D) or Tom Canada (L)

Attorney General – Kerry Hicks (L), Attorney Gen. Leslie Rutledge (R) or Mike Lee (D)

Sec. State – John Thurston Commissioner of State Lands (R) Susan Inman (D) or Christopher Olson (L)

State Treasurer – Ashley Ewald (L) or Treasurer of State Dennis Milligan (R)

State Auditor – Auditor Audrea Lea (R) or David E. Dinwiddie (D)

State Land Commissioner – Tommy Land (R). R.T. Campbell (L) or Larry Williams (D)

State Supreme Court Associate Justice Position 3 – State Supreme Court Justice Courtney Goodson or David Sterling.

State Senate Dist. 10 – Bobbi Hicks (L) or Sen. Larry Teague (D)

State Rep. Dist. 5 – State Rep. David Fielding (D) or Wade Andrews (R)

Nevada County Judge – Mark Glass (D) or Mike Otwell (R)

Rosston Mayor – Mayor Lewis Jackson or Samuel L. Quarles

Rosston City Council – Irene Tidwell or Lesa Ward

  1. Dist. 8 – JP George S. Smith (D) or Chris Fore (R)

Issue No. 1 – struck from ballot

Issue No. 2 – Voter ID issue

Issue No. 3 – Arkansas Term Limit Amendment

Issue No. 4 – Casino issue

Issue No. 5 – Increasing state minimum wage act