Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

City, county have holiday parties

By Staff, 12/20/19 2:16 PM

PRESCOTT – It was party time for the City of Prescott and Nevada County, Friday, as the two entities celebrated Christmas for their employees.

The county celebrated at the Youth Center with a fish and chicken dinner from Hwy. 67 Gas and Grill. County employees gathered, chatted and dined in a laid back manner. There were no speeches or awards, just food, fellowship and fun.

It was pointed out the county’s trash schedule for the week of Christmas will see regular pickup on Monday, Tuesday’s garbage will be picked up Thursday and Tuesday’s, Wednesday’s and Thursday’s trash will be picked up Friday.

The city celebrated at the Hamilton-Blakely Senior Adult Center, with the meal catered by Ann Jordan.

The city’s party began with Prescott Police Chief Joey Beavers recognizing two officers for the work they’ve done this past year. Cody Ferguson was honored for exceptional service, while Colby Tillman was named officer of the year.

Prescott Mayor Terry Oliver recognized a list of city employees for their outstanding work during 2019. These names will be added to a plaque in the senior center. Ann Jordan was recognized eight times for going above and beyond the call of duty; Patricia Roberts was honored for being named to a state advisory council; Charles Ledbetter earned the hero award while Mike Suggs was recognized for the work he does as director of the Youth Center. The courage award went to Pookie Gillard, while Ann Jordan and Chris Stewart got the spirit award, the excellence in customer service award went to Ann and Essence Jordan and Bruce Bean, while Tillman earned the volunteer award. Most improved went to Chris Hopper, while the leadership award went to Bean, Leo Smith and Tammie Rose.

Ten people were nominated for employee of the year: Keith Cummings, Perry Nelson, Bruce Bean, Cody Ferguson, David Thomason, Larry Walker, Jeremy Lowe, Ann Jordan, Larry Jones, Jr. and Jake Cornelius. The honor went to Jordan.