Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Hope School Board Incumbents Unopposed

By Ken McLemore/Hope Public Schools, 03/3/22 4:37 PM

HOPE – Hope Public Schools Board of Education members seeking re-election in the first balloting after redrawing district lines will all seek office unopposed.

Zone 3 Representative Margaret Moss, Zone 4 Representative Jimmy Courtney, Zone 6 Representative Kathryn Dickinson and Zone 7 Representative Alvis Hamilton all filed for re-election prior to the March 1 filing deadline.

The four board members are seeking election for five-year terms under a change adopted by the board in October, 2021, prior to the ratification of new board zone maps in November, 2021.

Dickinson and Moss are seeking re-election for skewed terms because they were originally seated on the board by appointment.

The Hope school election coincides with the May 24 Arkansas Preferential Primary Election. The HPS tax rate of 34.70 mills remains unchanged as proposed in the district’s annual tax levy budget adopted by the board Feb. 24.