Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Otwell new county judge

By John Miller, 11/8/22 9:54 PM

PRESCOTT – On Jan. 1, 2023, Mike Otwell will be sworn in as the new Nevada County Judge.

Otwell beat Bob Cummings 1,327-1,128 in the General Election Tuesday night. Otwell received 768 votes on election day, 34 absentee ballots and 525 in early voting. Cummings garnered 577 votes Tuesday, 51 absentee ballots and 500 in early voting.

In other contested races in the county, Dale Booker remains mayor of Emmet, beating Shannon Peck, 79-48. Booker pulled in 48 votes Tuesday, four absentee and 27 early; while Peck got 32 votes Tuesday, one absentee and15 early votes.

For Emmet City Council, Ward 1, Position 2, Wayne Baker held his seat, beating Dee Clark, 78-48. Baker received 47 votes Tuesday, four early ballots and 27 absentee; while Clark garnered 31 votes on election day, one absentee and 14 early.

Terry Oliver remains mayor of Prescott. He was challenged in the primary but was unopposed in the general election. He pulled in 607 votes, 236 Tuesday, 37 absentee and 334 early. All unopposed candidates also posted wins as there were 1,693 total votes, with 939 on Tuesday, 65 absentee and 689 early.

The millage for the Nevada School District passed, 365-347, with 256 votes cast for it Tuesday and 260 against. There were 10 votes for the measure on absentee voting with four against, and 99 for in early voting with 83 against.

The millage for the Prescott School District failed, 737-683. There were 301 votes for it on election day, with 33 absentee and 3498 early, while there were 349 against Tuesday, with 29 absentee and 359 early.

In the  race for US Senate, John Boozman beat Democrat Natalie James and Libertarian Kenneth Cates. Boozman pulled in 1,660 votes while James received 740 and Cates managed 49. Boozman got 952 votes Tuesday, 50 absentee and 658 early. James managed 357 on election day, 33 absentee and 350 early. Cates got 28 votes Tuesday, three absentee and 18 early.

For US Congress Dist. 4, Bruce Westerman won the county with 1,678 votes. Democrat John White received 714 votes with Libertarian Gregory Maxwell garnering 44. Westerman received 956 votes Tuesday, 54 absentee and 668 early. White pulled in  355 votes on election day, 31 absentee and 328 early. Maxwell got the bulk of his support Tuesday with 28 votes, no absentee and 16 early.

Tim Griffin won the attorney general’s race in the county with 1,682 votes to 756 for his Democratic challenger Jesse Gibson. Griffin got 956 votes Tuesday, 49 absentee and 668 early, while Gibson pulled in 370 votes on election day, 35 absentee and 351 early.

It should come as no surprise Sarah Sanders easily carried the county with 1,651 votes to 780 for Democrat Chris Jones and 26 for LIbertarian Ricky Dale Harrington, Jr. Sanders received 945 votes Tuesday, 48 absentee and 658 early. Jones managed 382 votes Tuesday, 38 absentee and 360 early. Harrington got 18 votes Tuesday, no absentee and eight early.

In the race for Lt. Gov. Leslie Rutledge won with 1,690 votes. Democrat Kelly Krout pulled in 709 votes, while Libertarian Frank Gilbert received 46. Rutledge received 962 votes Tuesday, 49 absentee and 679 early. Krout got 348 on election day, 33 absentee and 328 early. Gilbert pulled in 25 Tuesday, three absentee and 18 early.

John Thurston carried the county for Secretary of State, handling Democrat Anna Beth Gorman, 1,683-746. He received 967 votes Tuesday, 47 absentee and 669 early. Gorman had 366 votes on election day, 35 absentee and 345 early.

The red wave continued for the office of State Treasurer with Mark Lowery beating Democrat Pam Whitaker, 1,648-785. Lowery received 948 votes Tuesday, 49 early and 651 early. Whitaker managed 390 Tuesday, 35 absentee and 360 early.

Nothing changed in the race for Auditor of the State as Dennis Milligan posted a commanding win over Democrat Diamond Arnold-Johnson and Libertarian Simeon Snow. Milligan pulled in 1,674 total votes, 960 Tuesday, 49 absentee and 665 early, while Arnold-Johnson managed 714 total, with 350 Tuesday, 34 absentee and 330 early. Snow managed 42 votes, 24 Tuesday, one absentee and 17 early.

In the race for State Land Commissioner, Tommy Land easily carried the county, beating Darlene Goldi Gaines, 1,711-720. Land received 979 votes Tuesday, 51 absentee and 681 early. Gaines pulled in 355 Tuesday, 34 absentee and 331 early.

For State Rep. Dist. 98, Wade Andrews beat incumbent Democrat David Fielding, 189-104. Andrews received 151 votes Tuesday, one absentee and 37 early. Fielding pulled in 83 votes Tuesday, two absentee and 19 early.

In the race for Nevada County Clerk, Rita Reyenga had no challenger and pulled in 2,146 votes, 1,190 on Tuesday, 73 absentee and 883 erly.

For State Supreme Court Associate Justice Pos. 2, Robin Wynne beat Chris Carnahan, 1,388-729. Wynn received 765 votes Tuesday, 44 absentee and 579 early, while Carnahan got 406 Tuesday, 27 absentee and 296 early.

All unopposed candidates won receiving 1,693 votes overall, 939 Tuesday, 65 absentee and 689 early.

On the proposed constitutional amendments, Issue one , which would give state senators and representatives authority to call special sessions, failed in the county, 1,475-873. Those voting against cast 849 ballots Tuesday, 45 absentee and 581 early. Those in favor had 442 votes Tuesday, 36 absentee and 395 early.

Issue 2, which would require 60percent voter approval for constitutional amendments and citizen-proposed state laws also failed to carry the county, losing 1,336-1,027. Those against cast 720 ballots Tuesday, 44 absentee and 572 early. Those for had 582 ballots Tuesday, 35 absentee and 410 early.

Issue 3, the religious freedom amendment carried the county, 1,235-1,139. Those in favor cast 679 votes Tuesday, 48 absentee and 508 early. Those against voted 624 Tuesday, 30 absentee and 485 early.

Issue 4, the Arkansas Adult Use Cannabis Amendment, was voted down in the county, 1,459-973. 791 ballots were cast against it Tuesday, with 49 absentee and 619 early. Those in favor cast 549 votes Tuesday, 32 early and 392 early.

These are unofficial results as the election won’t be certified for a few days.