Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

2024 County Farm Families of the Year Announced

By Dale Gathright, Jr., 05/14/24 1:37 PM

Damon and Terri Williams Family named Nevada County’s 2024 Farm Family of the Year. Nevada County Cooperative Extension Service

Curtis Jr. and Melissa Bobo family have been named Hempstead County Farm Family of the Year for 2024! The Bobos farm poultry, cattle, hay, and watermelons in southern Hempstead County with their 8 children. Hempstead County Cooperative Extension Service

LITTLE ROCK – The Arkansas Farm Family of the Year program has announced its 2024 County Farm Families of the Year.

Since 1947, the Arkansas Farm Family of the Year program has helped to recognize outstanding farm families throughout the state. The objectives of the Farm Family of the Year program are:

  • To give recognition and encouragement to farm families who are doing an outstanding job on their farm and in their community;
  • To recognize the importance of agriculture in the community and state; and
  • To disseminate information on improved farm practices and management.

Selection criteria for the Arkansas Farm Family of the Year includes efficiency of production, conservation of energy and resources, leadership in agricultural and community affairs, home and farm improvement, and home and farm management.

The county Farm Families of the Year are:

  • Hempstead – Curtis & Melissa Bobo
  • Nevada – Damon Williams
  • Howard – Billy Barton
  • Lafayette – Stephen & Cindy Burton
  • Little River – Mark & Patty Welch

The families will be visited by a set of judges to determine eight District Farm Families of the Year, which will be announced June 17. The Arkansas Farm Family of the Year will be announced in December at the Farm Family of the Year luncheon, who then represent Arkansas at the Southeastern Expo Farmer of the Year event in Georgia. Arkansas has had three Southeast Farmer of the Year winners, Brian and Nan Kirksey of Clark County in 2008 and Wildy Family Farms of Mississippi County in 2016 and the Cobb, Lyerly and Owen Family/Partnership of Craighead County in 2023.

Sponsors of the Arkansas Farm Family of the Year program are Arkansas Farm Bureau, the Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas and the Farm Credit Associations of Arkansas. Additionally, support for the program is provided by the Arkansas Agriculture Department, Arkansas Department of Career Education, Arkansas Press Association, University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture and the USDA’s Farm Service Agency, Natural Resources Conservation Service and Rural Development.

Arkansas Farm Bureau is a nonprofit, private advocacy organization of more than 190,000 families throughout the state working to improve farm and rural life.