Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

14 inducted to softball HoF

By Staff, 08/12/19 9:27 AM

HOPE – Fourteen men were inducted into the Southwest Arkansas Softball Hall of Fame Friday evening during the Watermelon Festival.

The induction ceremony was held on field on at the Kelly Field Complex, where these men spent many a night playing softball with various teams. However, one induction was held posthumously, as Mike Voltz passed away. His son accepted the plaque in his father’s name, while carrying the urn with his father’s ashes.

Those inducted were: Ricky Rhodes, Rickie Robbins, Voltz, Jay Williams, Scott Wood, Evan Tompkins, Sohn McLean, Jim Rhodes, Jack Easterling, Rusty Hill, Greg Hunter, Terry McGaha, Dave Norrid and Ronnie Balladarsh.

The presentations were made by SWAR Hall of Fame President Robbie Franks.

Along with induction into the hall, six players were recognized as Players fo the Year for their teams.