Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

HC candidates named

By Staff, 03/5/18 2:26 PM


HOPE – Voters in Hope and Hempstead County will have plenty to choose from at the May 22 Preferential Party Primary as there are several contested races.

Four people have filed for Hempstead County Judge, three running on the GOP ticket. They are: Greg Jackson, Jerry Crane and Judge Haskell Morse. Allen Flowers is seeking the post on as a Democrat.

Two are vying for county coroner. David Peters is running as a Republican while Scott Brown is running as a Democrat. These two will face off in the General Election on Nov. 6. Hempstead County Clerk Karen Smith is being challenged by Eva Morehead. Both are running on the GOP ticket.

Gail Wolfenbarger is the lone candidate for Circuit Clerk. She’s running as a Democrat. Kim Smith is the only candidate for County Assessor. She’s running on the Democratic ticket.

Most of the justice of the peace positions are unchallenged, but two seats have more than one candidate. For district 6, Troy Lerew, Sr. is running against incumbent Lynn Montgomery. Both are running as Republicans. District 7 has three vying for the seat: Jim Burke, Steve Atchley and Mikki Curtis, all are running on the GOP ticket. Otherwise, the Quorum Court races will see James Griffin in district 1; Jay Lathrop district 10; B. Keith Steed, in district 11; Richard Kennedy, district 2; Doris Brown, district 3; Ed Darling, district 4; Olen Dorman, district 5; C. David Clayton, district 8; and Jessie Henry, district 9.

James Singleton is unopposed for the position of Hempstead County Sheriff, as Judy Lee Flowers is for Treasurer.

Steve Burke is seeking a seat on the Blevins School Board for Zone 4, while Carl McGill is looking to be reelected in Zone 7.

For the Hope School Board, David “Bubba” Powers is the lone candidate for Zone 2; with Linda Haynes seeking the spot for Zone 5. Three are running for the position in Zone 6. They are: Nichols Ward, Ira Dale Love and Kathryn Dickinson.

Jerry Crider is running for constable in the DeRoan Township, with William Cole seeking the position in the Garland Township. Warren Webster is looking to be constable for the Saline Township, while Jimmy Singleton is looking for the job in the Spring Hill Township.